God Doesn’t Fit in Our Box

This week I have had several theological discussions. In some of these conversations, people wanted to understand everything about God. God used these conversations to remind me that He is infinite and that I am finite. I will never be able to comprehend the God that created the universe, sent Jesus born of a virgin, loved us so much that while we were yet sinners Christ died for us, raised Jesus from the dead, and will restore His creation one day. Consider the following:

Isaiah 55:8-9:8, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD.  9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

Romans 11:33-34, “33 Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways! 34  “For who has known the mind of the Lord, or who has been his counselor?”

1 Cor. 2:16 “For who has understood the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him?…”

And who can forget God responding to Job in chapters 38 and following, 4 “Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth? Tell me, if you have understanding.”

Instead of trying so hard to make God fit into our box created by our own fallen and finite brains, we should worship the indescribable, infinite God revealed to us in Scripture. The God of Scripture won’t fit into our box, and if “a god” does fit into your box, then you have likely created an idol in your own mind. Let Scripture speak and rest in knowing that we serve an incomprehensibly great God.

Discussing our attempts to put God in a box reminded me of a video I produced a couple of years ago in an online Systematic Theology class. I am bringing it out of the archives. I hope you enjoy it. I call it Waffle Iron Theology.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “God Doesn’t Fit in Our Box

  1. rhwoodman

    Good post and great video. Knowing that God is beyond my ability to understand, imagine, or describe, still I want to stretch my mind and my understanding beyond what it is so that I can understand as much of Him as I can. I know that ultimately, this side of heaven, such a quest will fall short of complete success, but I see trying to understand as much as I can part of loving the Lord my God with all my mind.

    Thanks for this post.

Leave a Reply

