Incredible Week of Chapel at Southwestern Seminary

Thursday during chapel Paige Patterson brought excellent message on the commandment against taking God’s name in vain. He brought out some points that I had not considered especially concerning the origin of certain phrases like “gosh,” “golly,” and “gee.”  You can read about those in this article. Another that he mentioned was the origin of the phrase “by George.”  I had not considered all of these phrases before as taking the name of the Lord in vain, but as Patterson explained these came into English as other names for God or Jesus. We often use these substitutes with the same intent in our heart as though we were taking God’s name in vain. I fear that some of these phrases have crept into my common vernacular. So I will make a concerted effort to allow all of my speech to glorify God. I would recommend that you listen to his sermon. It certainly challenged me. You can find it and our other sermons here.

On Wednesday, Josh Smith preached on the Great Commission. I would encourage everyone to listen to his message as well. He talked about the difference between our motive, our mission, and our vision. The glory of God is our motive and the Great Commission is our mission while our vision may be specific to our individual situation. He brought a powerful word encouraging us to stay focused on the Gospel and through the spread of the Gospel glorify God. Smith had much to say of interest which I don’t have time to recap so you’ll just have to listen for yourself.

On Tuesday, Richard Ross spoke about the importance of seeing a full Christology which means that Jesus is more than our homeboy and won’t fit in our pocket. He reminded us of the truth that God is the risen king who has been given all authority and sits at the right hand of the Father. His message resonated with much that I stress in my Systematic Theology classes each year.

I consider it an incredible blessing to have the opportunity to hear great messages each week. I would encourage you to take advantage of them too. So what’s coming up next week you ask? Just Jerry Vines, Paige Patterson, and Jimmy Draper…I can’t wait to see what God does next!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

