The Southern Baptist Convention

I am greatly encouraged after my second Southern Baptist Convention in San Antonio, Texas. I was here many years ago as a much younger boy. My father is a Southern Baptist Preacher who brought me to the convention with him. He taught me the importance of the Conservative Resurgence and standing on the inerrancy of Scripture. The logical corollary to inerrancy is of course the sufficiency of Scripture. I have often remembered those lessons and the battle fought in San Antonio among other locations. I thought of these days again when reading one theologian reminding us to always be vigilant in watching those who wish to move our convention to the left theologically or widen the tent too far. This theologian encouraged us to remember the Alamo. Wise words.

There is much that I could say about this year’s convention. I could speak of the election of Jim Richards. I could speak of the great job Paige Patterson did during the Southwestern Seminary report. I could speak of the strong stand Al Mohler took during this year’s convention. However, I simply want to say thank you to the many men I met who are committed to biblical inerrancy and sound theology. I met many Southern Baptists with hearts for evangelism and the willingness to be vigilant against any who wish to sidetrack us on our goal of fulfilling the great commission. I am greatly encouraged with those I have met.  I look forward to working with them for years to come. Thanks to all of you who have given me another reason to remember the Alamo.

Coming in a future commentary…an explanation of the name of this site and my intentions here. For now, I am going to spend some time with my family and catch up on email.    

Leave a comment

Filed under Southern Baptist Convention

Leave a Reply

